Taking effect from 2 December 2021, the youth sector moves to the Yellow readiness level and the following changes apply: Anyone aged 11+ must wear a face covering when indoors, unless they are exempt (and we recommend the use of known visible methods for people to display if they are exempt). We are asking everyone to review and update risk assessments for section meetings, activities and residentials as well as meetings, training, events and social activities for adults to reflect this change and the current readiness level. For full details visit scouts.org.uk

About us

We have 9 Scout Groups located throughout the District, all having at least one Beaver Scout Colony (6-8 yrs), Cub Scout Pack (8-10.5 yrs), and Scout Troop (10.5-14 yrs). We also have 3 Explorer Scout Units (14-18 yrs), a Local Scout Network (18-25 yrs), two Active Support Units (18+ yrs) and a Scout Band. At the 2020 Census we had over 910 Youth Members, nearly 289 Leaders and total membership of 1199 people.

About Us

Greenspaces, The Solent, Hamble and a stone’s throw from The New Forest

Fareham is located between the cities of Portsmouth and Southampton in south east Hampshire. Fareham West District includes Stubbington and Hill Head, Titchfield, Park Gate, Locks Heath, Sarisbury Green, Warsash and Whiteley. We are really lucky to have access to The Solent and The River Hamble and we are proud to have two very successful Royal Navy recognised Sea Scout groups who regularly sail, row, paddleboard, kayak and canoe on arguably some of the best water in the south. The New Forest and Ferny Crofts, the home of Hampshire Scouting, is a short distance away.

For a list of all our Scout groups, including addresses and websites click here.

For a list of Explorer Units and where they are hosted, click here.

If you are looking for Scouting between Catisfield and Portchester please visit Fareham East Scouts.

District leadership

Leading Scouting in the District is the District Commissioner who is accountable to the District Scout Council.

The current District Commissioner was appointed in January 2020 and a core team of Assistant District Commissioners (ADCs), Managers and Advisers support the delivery of a quality programme. These include the District Explorer Scout Commissioner (DESC) and District Youth Commissioner (DYC), Group Scout Leaders (GSL’s), the Duke of Edinburgh Award Team and other specialist roles. Also there’s the District Training Manager who is responsible for a team of Training Advisers.

The District Executive, comprising of elected, nominated and co-opted trustees whose officers consist of the Chair, Treasurer and Secretary, manage all the administrative affairs of the District which include finances, insurance and compliance.

In summary, a team of dedicated volunteers providing professional services to support our Amazing Leaders.

Put your phone down and what are you left with? Just teamwork, courage and the skills to succeed.’
Bear Grylls, Chief Scout Bear Grylls